Thursday 7 December 2023

2023 Christmas Party

Due to the centre having their Christmas party early this year we moved our celebratory meeting forward to the 7th December. As usual there was a warm inviting atmosphere where, as well as bringing a painting from 2023 for the competition, everyone brought a contribution of something to eat or drink and a card to exchange. The festivities got under way with a short art based quiz organised by Paul and later in the evening votes were counted for this years winner of the John Emmerton Trophy. The quality of the work was high and It was a close contest but this years winner was Mike Ainsworth with is graphite of ‘Hedge Sparrow’.

Julie Searing, last years winner had the honour of presenting the trophy to Mike who now has the responsibility of cleaning it for the next 12 months! The group meets again on the 11th January 2024. Images provided by Sue Redman, Stephen Watson and Leyland Artist Archive.

Mike Ainsworth receiving the John Emmerton Trophy from
Julie Searing, last years winner. 

Sparrow by Mike Ainsworth (Graphite)

Other entries to the competition

High standards from everyone and the voting was close

Who was John Emmerton?

Many new members have joined the group since Johns passing in 2014 so here is a little note about this founder member.

John G Emmerton was born in 1924 and served as a Leading Aircraftman with the RAF from 1940 to 1946. After leaving the service he joined the police force where he retired at the rank of inspector in 2005. John was a prolific artist and covered a wide range of subjects but his favourite genre was historical and present day buildings, both in and around his home and on holiday locations. As a long standing member of the former Farington Art Group John became a founder member of the new ‘Leyland Artists Group’ at its inception in 2011 and took pride in mentoring new artists and running children's art workshops in the summer at the local park. Upon his death in 2014 it was decided to create the “John Emmerton Trophy” in his honour which is awarded to the competition winner (by votes) at the end of each year and is presented at the groups end of year Christmas Party.

We present some of his work.